Buddhist Precepts, and Interpretations

Three Pure Precepts:

Ten Prohibitory Precepts: Do not
    misuse sex
    dwell on past mistakes
    praise or blame
    hoard materials or teachings
    be angry
    disrespect the Three Treasures

Precepts facilitate living without harming; the core of morality and ethics, and provide guidelines for a life of sanction. Although frequently compared to the Christian commandments, precepts are not fixed rules or laws. The first five precepts address not harming others, while the second five address not harming oneself through negative habits and emotions.

Different branches of Buddhism may word precepts differently, and even have different numbers of precepts. The links below at least suggest their potential, and other possibilities.

Back to Mind and Meditation.