Right Mindfulness

Right Mindfulness

Right Mindfulness accepts without judgment or reaction,
generally with stages of recognizing,
welcoming, and taking care, as needed
within the context of the present moment.

Human traits that need to be taken care of include
greed, hatred, ignorance, pride, doubt, malice,
hypocrisy, malevolence, jealousy, selfishness,
deception, guile, unwholesome excitement, and so forth.

Various realms of mindfulness can be noted,
such as happiness, joy, and letting go, or suffering anxiety, and ignorance.
Craving, anger, and harming can be opposed
to mindful freedom from craving, abstinence from anger, and non-harming.

Mindfulness includes feelings, mind, and body
breathing, sensations, energy, thinking, intentions, and attitudes.
Mindfulness contrasts gross desire with the subtle awareness of forms;
and even more subtle formlessness.

In relationships, four "immeasurable minds" accompany right mindfulness
Love, Compassion, Joy Sharing, and Equinanimity.
According to Thich Nhat Hahn (TNH),
seven aspects of relational mindfulness are
Thich Nhat Hahn recommends keeping the following books
by one's bedside, for frequent review;

"Breathe! You are Alive, Sutra on the Full Awareness of Breathing",
Thich Nhat Hahn, 1996,
"Transformation & Healing, Sutra on the Four Establishments of Mindfulness",
Thich Nhat Hahn, 1990, Parallax Press, Berkeley.

This page is mostly taken from my Right, According to Buddha,
that roughly outlines Thich Nhat Hahn's book "The Heart of Buddha's Teaching"

Mindful intelligence may lie between Extremes of Intelligence
Attitudes of owning that hinder mindfulness are addressed in Ego's Ownership: Me and Mine
Excitement and Addiction are antithetical to mindfulness.
Daydreaming, and its reactions, occasion angst, as in Daydreaming

Introductory concepts with explanatory links are in my Mindfulness
Basic Buddhist guidelines are listed in my Buddhism in a Nutshell
Back to Zen Mind and Meditation